India is not a member of the Treaty on the Non-Proliferation of Nuclear Weapons (NPT) or the Comprehensive Nuclear Test Ban Treaty (CTBT), though it is a state party to the Partial Test Ban Treaty (PTBT). New Delhi embarked on a nuclear energy program in 1948 and a nuclear explosives program in 1964.[1] The latter culminated in the May 1974 test of a « peaceful nuclear explosion. »[2] Following five nuclear tests in May 1998, India formally declared itself a nuclear weapon state.

April 20th, 2012

%d blogueurs aiment cette page :